Greenlife boss is The Sun’s Businessman of the Year 2015

Founder and chairman of Greenlife Pharmaceuticals Limited,  Dr Obiora Anthony Chukwuka, recently became the cynosure of the pharmaceutical industry as he clinched  The Sun Newspaper’s 2015 Businessman of the Year award.

The colourful event, held at the convention centre of Eko Hotels in Victoria Island, Lagos on 20 February, was graced by notables, captains of industry, political bigwigs, technocrats, government functionaries, media practitioners and other professionals from all walks of life.


In his opening remarks, Mr Eric Osagie, managing director and editor-in-chief of The Sun Newspaper, explained that since the inception of the awards in 2003, the ceremony had been tailored to honour distinguished personalities, for exhibiting the will to excel in their chosen fields.

“Again, this year, the awards will humbly honour Nigerian patriots whose public doings have helped to enliven hope for a greater Nigeria. I use this opportunity to congratulate you all,” he said.

While presenting the award to Obiora, Dr Chris Ngige, minister of labour and employment, announced that hardworking people like the Greenlife founder had become rare.

“On behalf of the organiser, I congratulate you once again for creating employment and contributing to the development of this country,” he said.

Speaking with Pharmanews, an elated Obiora noted that the award came as a surprise to him.

“What I saw today has given me the impression that no matter what you do, people are always watching. I have always been an advocate of “doing the right thing at all time” and I strongly believe that for as long as you are hardworking and a man of integrity, you will always get it right

“I thank The Sun management for not just the award, but for equally giving me the opportunity to tell my story,” he enthused.

Over the years, Greenlife has grown to become one of Nigeria’s top corporate and respected indigenous pharmaceutical brands. With over 120 NAFDAC approved brands currently on its stable, the company employs several hundreds of Nigerian professionals across various disciplines, especially Pharmacy.

Winners in other categories of The Sun Awards included Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Man of the Year); Chief Willie Obiano (Governor of the Year); Hajia Nana Shettima (Most Supportive First Lady of the Year); Mrs. Chinelo Anohu-Amazu (Public Service Award); Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar (Lifetime Achievement Award; Dr Samuel Ogbemudia (Lifetime Achievement Award); Gen. Ike Nwachukwu (Lifetime Achievement Award); Justice Marian Mukhtar (Lifetime Achievement Award);  Chief Mbazulike Amaechi (Lifetime Achievement Award) and Chief Kessington Adebutu (Lifetime Achievement Award).

Other awardees were Yemi Adeola (Banker of the Year); Dr Uche Ogah (Investor of the Year); Chief Eric Umeofia (Manufacturer of the Year); Mr Amaju Pinnick (Sports Personality of the Year); Rockview Hotel (Chief Vincent Obianodo) (Hospitality Firm of the Year); Mrs Josephine Ugwu (Nigerian Hero of the Year); Mrs. Omoni Oboli (Nollywood Personality of the Year); and Mr. Harrison T. Okiri also known as Harrysong (Creative Person of the Year).

Source: Pharmanews

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *